Posted in culture, political, science

Stewardship

I believe that Christians should be excellent stewards of God’s Creation.
I regularly choose products made of recycled Content. I feel that making a purchase of recycled Content is a reasonable way to be responsible.
I also choose to use recycling bins for my trash. I give thought to where I spend my money. If a company has a bad record on the environment, it is appropriate to avoid buying their products.

Notice however, both for myself and the companies I purchase from, the key word is choice.

I also believe we should be kind to animals when possible. I would not tolerate abuse of a pet for example. I would not attend a dog fight. If a company goes the extra mile to avoid animal testing I will purchase from that company.

I feel we as a Christians should be wary of companies that pollute or destroy animal habitats unnecessarily. Oftentimes, a company that is irresponsible in one area may be irresponsible with their workers safety or even the consumers safety.

As a Christian, I feel obligated to avoid polluting the environment wherever possible. As a supporter of free market capitalism I believe in Liberty and personal responsibility. I  therefore, resist regulations that destroy livelihoods just to protect some obscure flora or unheard of fauna.

Let’s strike a balance. Give business a shot at doing the right thing and reward them for it at the checkout counter. We are all empowered this way. Over regulation hurts business and consumer. The benefit to the yellow speckled Whatchamacallit is dubious.

Leave a comment